h1

maudlin of the Well – Bath

Saturday, February 7, 2009
Bath (2001)

Bath (2001)

I reviewed Bath on my blogspot, and I’ve also reviewed it for Blogcritics. I just can’t shut up about this album.

maudlin of the Well is one of the greatest bands I’ve heard, yet sadly few people seem to know them. I should say maudlin seem to be gaining popularity – when I first joined last.fm about a year ago, they had less than 100,000 plays. Now, they’re up to about 4oo,ooo.

Bath itself is indescribable. Post-Rock, jazz, progressive, and indie are the main genres maudlin touch on, though their emphasis is metal.

With so much variety it would seem easy to assume maudlin have no focus.This is far from the case. All these elements are seamlessly blended to create something otherworldly. Toby Driver, singer and composer of maudlin’s music, used astral projection to write the music.

Now I’m not a metal guy. Rarely does metal appeal to me. But maudlin of the Well is different.They make great music, not really so much seeing how many notes they can fit in a beat, which is what a lot of metal seems to do. 

My favorite songs here are “The Blue Ghost/Shedding Qliphoth,” “Heaven and Weak,” (definitely “Heaven and Weak!”), and “Girl With a Watering Can. ” However the album is best listened to as a whole.

You’re better off downloading this album than buying it. It’s now out of print, so the band won’t be losing any money off you. Besides, copies go for upwards $50 on Amazon.

And good news! Due to a very generous fan who gave the band $10,000, maudlin have come back together for a new album, to be released in 2009. I will be walking on air, come that day.

So, listen to the song posted below, visit maudlin’s MySpace. Do all the usual “I really want to check these guys out!” sort of legwork. They deserve it.

Leave a Reply

