h1

Muse – Absolution

Sunday, February 8, 2009
Absolution (2003)

Absolution (2003)

Bombastic. Over-the-top. Loud. Edgy. Blaring. Glorious.

These are a few words which describe Muse’s Absolution.

Freshman year in college, one of my friends started harping about Muse. “Muse is so amazing, I’ve seen Muse live three times, Muse is the meaning of life.”

To which I responded, “Whose this Muse you speak of?”

I was then told my life was meaningless unless I got Absolution. ASAP.

So, feeling like a noob for not knowing who this most glorious Muse was whilst feeling I had been living under a musical rock all my life, I went down to trusty old Hastings and made the required purchuse.

Absolution, along with OK Computer, grew to be one of the albums that defined my music taste my freshman year. Since then, I’ve probably listened to this album more times than is healthy.

Looking back, I would never say Muse is the greatest band on the face of the earth (although I’m sure many would say that). They certainly deserve the title more than Coldplay.

But at the time, it didn’t matter whether or not it was true. What mattered was I thought Muse was the greatest band on the face of the earth. Just based on track five, “Stockholm Syndrome,” I was more than prepared to make that claim. The combination of classical chord progressions and alternative music was completely unknown to me. I know no other band that does this as effectively as Muse.

Muse was one of the bands that inspired me to pick up the guitar.  I’ve learned most of the acoustic songs they play. From this particular album, “Sing for Absolution” and “Falling Away With You,” the latter perhaps being one of the most hauntingly beautiful things I’ve ever heard.

I love Muse because of the incredibly fun and powerful music they create. I dream of seeing them live. They are also close to me because so many of my friends enjoy them as well. A couple of my friends have literally told me they could never repay me for introducing them to Muse. Seriously.

So, I guess this is what I’m doing for you now, dear reader. If you haven’t heard Muse yet, or have ignored all the hype, then I suggest you start with Absolution and work your way down to Origin of Symmetry, their two best albums. Black Holes and Revelations might give you a bad first impression.

Just beware – if you hear this album, you’re likely to go through a “Muse phase” which can take up to six months of your life.

Highlights of Absolution are  “Apocalypse Please,” “Time is Running Out,” “Stockholm Syndrome,” “Falling Away With You,” and “Hysteria.” The other songs are good, too.

I posted a video below of “Stockholm Syndrome,” which happens to be my favorite Muse video and goes to show why I want to see them live so badly.

Leave a Reply

