h1

Death Cab for Cutie – Transatlanticism

Tuesday, February 10, 2009
Transatlanticism (2003)

Transatlanticism (2003)

Death Cab was the first “indie” band I became interested in, much less listened to.

My musical awakening came a little later than most. I don’t think I even bought a good CD until I was a senior in high school. So, Death Cab for Cutie was a gateway band that pointed me on to more good music.

Transatlanticism was how Death Cab did that.

After hearing “Title and Registration” and “Passenger Seat” on a CD my friend gave me, I was hooked. Irreversibly hooked. I handn’t known such beautiful pop perfection even existed.

These songs made me buy the actual CD. I had recently picked up guitar, so the album also served as useful fodder to find a few easy tunes to play.

But don’t let easy fool you – this music has incredible depth, musically and lyrically, which is to be expected since it’s Death Cab’s magnum opus. The songs topics range from the pain of losing a lover (“Title and Registration”), the deceitfulness of lust (“Tiny Vessels”), to the distance we feel that seems wider than the Atlantic Ocean (“Transatlanticism”).

Transatlanticism seems to be a reflection on loneliness, a call looking for its answer across impossibly vast distances that one can never conquer alone. It is call which isn’t answered until their next album, Plans.

Leave a Reply

