h1

Porcupine Tree – Deadwing

Saturday, April 18, 2009
Deadwing (2005)

Deadwing (2005)

From the first time I listened to this album it felt so innately familiar, like I heard all these songs before. This is definitely not a bad thing, in this case.

Every one of these songs are great and add something to the album, which I can’t really say for In Absentia. Certainly some are weaker than others, but every song shines here.

It starts hard with the nealy ten minute “Deadwing.” Next the pop-metallish “Shallow.” Then my favorite song on the album, “Lazarus,” is very pretty and spacey. It has a piano background which really make the song tender and warm while maintining its progressive elements.

Deadwing is my second Porcupine Tree album and it just makes me want to explore the band further. This is the beginning of a great and new obsession, I’m sure.

“Arriving Somewhere but Not Here” is just an epic twelve minute thrill ride. “Mellotron Scratch” is also good. I could just go through the rest of the songs and devote a sentence to each of them, but there really is no point. I’d just be repeating myslf.

I’m not really an expert on Porcupine Tree, but this album makes me want to be one. It’s very surprisng to me that they are not as popular. I know, there are a lot of people who know about Porcupine Tree, but I guess what I’m saying is if you were to walk up to someone at my unversity and ask them if they’ve heard of them, maybe one of fifty would say “yes.” As such, Porcupine Tree seem to be a secretly amazing band that only a lucky few will ever hear about.

Deadwing is fun. While In Absentia has some better songs, Deadwing seems more consistent. I’ll probably review Fear of a Blank Planet soon.

4 comments

  1. They changed to Roadrunner Records a while ago, so maybe there popularity will increase now 😉


  2. Yeah, my ultimate dream would be to see them perform live in Oklahoma City. Since THAT probably won’t happen, I’ll settle for Dallas. I’ve already gotten some of my friends hooked on them!


  3. Check out also “Lightbulb Sun”, there are some really great songs on that one. Especially “Shesmovedon” and “Russian On Ice”… and, check out a band called “Pineapple Thief”… u love them.


  4. Yeah, I got Lightbulb Sun about a month ago but I still haven’t gotten around to listening to it. Someone else who commented told me to check it out so I think I will soon. Also, never heard of Pineapple Thief…the name sounds very similar to Porcupine Tree!



Leave a Reply

