h1

PJ Harvey – To Bring You My Love

Monday, November 19, 2012
To Bring You My Love (1995)

To Bring You My Love (1995)

Until a couple months ago, had never listened to PJ Harvey and honestly had no plans to. I gave Let England Shake a listen when it first came out because of the hype, and wasn’t ready for something so experimental.

Since that time two months ago, PJ has really started to grow on me – especially with her 1995 album, To Bring You My Love.

I was completely blown away the first time I listened. For those who are tired of frilly, vapid, girlish pop music that now permeates the music scene, PJ Harvey is the adequate cure. She goes to dark gritty places in her lyrics, and the voice and timbre of the instrumentation perfectly compliments themes of God and Hell and sex and the perverse.

It is clear that I and PJ (may I call her that?) have been strangers for way too long. She easily one of the most talented and versatile songwriters of recent times, and her vocal range, especially the lows, are very impressive. Her singing style is frantic and suffocating, and it works so well on this album and sets her apart from others.

It is easy to see why she is beloved by so many: she has followed her own path and made the music that she wanted to make, convention be damned. So far, of the four albums I’ve listened to this one is my favorite. This is one of those albums that goes deep enough to warrant many listens.

Leave a Reply

